About me

About me

I always told my friends I would work any job six months a year if I could travel the other six. Travel AND shop: my two favorite things. I saved all year in college to spend my summers backpacking in Europe, or my winter having Christmas alone in Africa.

About me

I grew up in a small town in Ohio, in a close knit family of 4. My dad worked at General Motors and my mom is a special education aid. I have one older brother (Iā€™m hoping him and his wife pop out some babies soon to take the pressure off me).

travel blog, family, backpackingWhen I graduated with my BSN, my brother, Travis finished his Masters

I have been lucky enough to have some of the same friends since preschool, perk of being from a small town. High School was a blur of soccer, studies, and getting into lots of secret trouble on the weekends.

travel blog, solo female travelHigh School graduation and best friends weddings

College was typical, lots of partying, working, and trying to study (but not really). It was the summer between my sophomore and junior year that I started to really think about the course in which I wanted my life to go. I spent two summers backpacking a little in Europe, and one month in Uganda my senior year.

Somehow, even with all of the great things and people that my life had blessed me with; I knew that something was missing. I knew in my heart that I belonged among the wildflowers, I belonged somewhere that I could feel free (Tom Petty, my favorite song of all time).

College at OSU: the school year spent partying, and the summers abroad